New York Philharmonic String Quartet

The New York Philharmonic String Quartet comprises four principal musicians from the New York Philharmonic Orchestra: Concertmaster Frank Huang (The Charles E. Culpeper Chair), Principal Associate Concertmaster Sheryl Staples (The Elizabeth G. Beinecke Chair), Principal Viola Cynthia Phelps (The Mr. and Mrs. Frederick P. Rose Chair) and Principal Cello Carter Brey (The Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Chair). The ensemble was formed in January 2017 during the Philharmonic’s 175th-anniversary season. The New York Philharmonic String Quartet made its debut as the solo ensemble in John Adams’ Absolute Jest in New York in March 2017 and reprised the work on the orchestra’s EUROPE/SPRING 2017 tour. All four members are winners of multiple prizes, have appeared as concerto soloists with the Philharmonic and orchestras around the world, and have appeared frequently in the Philharmonic’s chamber music series at David Geffen Hall and Merkin Concert Hall.