Board Members

Friends of the Lied Executive Board

  • Honorary President: Christina Hixson
  • President: Stephen Carttar
  • Past-President: Marilyn Dobski
  • Treasurer: Claire Cici
  • 2022–23 Campaign Chair: Dick Flynn
  • 2023–24 Campaign Chair: Erin Whitehurst

2023–23 Friends of the Lied Board Members

  • Lee Eldridge
  • Justin Graham
  • Stewart Grosser
  • Margaret Hair
  • Carol Hampton
  • Carrie Heim
  • Ray Hummert
  • Sophie Lamb
  • Tim Metz
  • John Nalbandian
  • Melissa Peterson
  • Tim Pleskac
  • Paul Popiel
  • Brenda Schulteis
  • Jane Tuttle
  • Kelly Walker
  • Derek Kwan, Executive Director

Our Team

Derek Kwan

Executive Director

Derek Kwan began his tenure as the Executive Director of the Lied Center of Kansas in January 2014. Derek came to the Lied Center from Jazz at Lincoln Center, where he served as Vice President of Concerts & Touring. In this role, he managed all activities related to performances under the Jazz at Lincoln Center brand, including the NYC season at Rose Theater and the Appel Room, worldwide touring of the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis and nightly sets at Dizzy's Club Coca-Cola. Derek previously worked for Interlochen Center for the Arts as the Executive Director of Interlochen Presents and also served as the Associate Director of Programming & Concert Operations for Jazz at Lincoln Center in the early 2000's. While earning his MBA at the University of Wisconsin, Derek served as the Education & Outreach Coordinator for the Wisconsin Union Theater. Prior to working in the arts, he worked for the IT consulting firm Accenture. A voting member of the Recording Academy, he has production credits on over 60 albums, including the Grammy-winning Bebo De Cuba and NY Times Album of the Year Lagrimas Negras. Derek has served as President of the Advisory Board of the University of Wisconsin's Bolz Center for Arts Administration and is a former board member for the Boston nonprofit arts organization, Inspire Arts & Music. In Kansas, he is proud to serve as a board member for KU Innovation ParkLawrence Chamber of Commerce, LMH Health Foundation and advisory board member for Kansas Public Radio.

Kate Lorenz

Senior Events & Audience Services Director

Amber Nickel

Events & Operations Manager

Kim Spencer

Box Office & Events Manager

Jake Gillespie

Events & Box Office Coordinator

Ann Hause

Technical Director

Andy Hause

Assoc. Technical Director

Hillary McPherson

Assistant Technical Director

Sue Mango

Development Director

Anthea Scouffas

Engagement/Education Director

Brad Knauss

Marketing Director

Betsy Ostrander

Marketing Comms. Coordinator

Shala Stevenson

Creative Director

Staff Roster

*KU Student
  • Administration

    • Derek Kwan, Executive Director
    • Sue Mango, Development Director
    • Debra Carter, SSC Finance Manager
    • Angel Gillaspie, SSC Accounting Specialist
    • Diane Hunter, SSC Human Resources Specialist
  • Marketing

    • Brad Knauss, Marketing Director
    • Shala Stevenson, Creative Director
    • Betsy Ostrander, Marketing Communications Specialist
  • Engagement

    • Anthea Scouffas, Engagement/Education Director
  • Events & Audience Services

    • Kate Lorenz, Senior Events & Audience Services Director
    • Kim Spencer, Box Office & Events Manager
    • Jake Gillespie, Events & Box Office Coordinator
    • Amber Nickel, Events & Operations Manager
    • *Mica Barros, Student Events Assistant
    • *Sarah Houldsworth, Student Events Assistant
    • *Anna Hughes, Student Events Assistant
    • *Nia Jackson, Student Events Assistant
    • *Abby Lim, Student Events Assistant
    • *Drake Pham, Student Events Assistant
    • *Aleah Utterson, Student Events Assistant
  • Operations

    • Danny Bowman, Asst. Custodial Supervisor
    • Heather Ashburn, Building Attendant
    • Carla Geddings, Building Attendant
    • Tracie Geddings, Building Attendant
    • *Kamryn Mussett, Parking Attendant
  • Technical

    • Ann Hause, Technical Director
    • Andrew Hause, Assoc. Technical Director
    • Hillary McPherson, Asst. Technical Director
    • Ian Bradt, Technical Supervisor
    • Christian Cooley, Technical Supervisor
    • Ron Culver, Technical Supervisor
    • Reece Dickson, Technical Supervisor
    • Connor Lumpkin, Technical Supervisor
    • Cooper Hicks, Technical Supervisor
  • Stagehands

    • *Thomas Batliner
    • *Kimma Edwards
    • *Nicholas Monroe
    • *Shay Philips
    • *Sam Richter
    • *Nancy Tran

Become a Volunteer

Lied Center Usher Experience

We started ushering so we could see all the great shows but then we fell in love with the whole Lied experience. We love being a part of this place! — Cliff and Carol Wallace

- Cliff and Carol Wallace

Volunteer ushers play a very important role as the face of the organization. They greet patrons, take tickets, provide directions and establish a welcoming environment at the Lied Center.

If you have questions, or would like to become a volunteer usher, email, or call 785-864-2790.

Usher Corps

  • Ann Alexander
  • Dody Anderson
  • Marolyn Anderson
  • Tim Arnold
  • Dorothy Bechtel
  • Beth Bodine
  • Marilyn Brobst
  • Vern Brobst
  • Suzi Cammon
  • David Carl
  • Kathy Carl
  • Lynne Chase
  • Rob Claassen
  • Rose Claassen
  • Karen Clark
  • Pat Conner
  • Donna Conway
  • Carladyne Conyers
  • Gerry Cottingham
  • Jerry Cottingham
  • Glen Davis
  • Linda C. Dean
  • Anita Dougherty
  • Shelley Dougherty
  • Kathy Dube
  • Tish Duke
  • Merilee Dymacek
  • Leslie Elkins
  • Jerry Feese
  • Patrick Finnegan
  • Jan Fox
  • Ann Furlong
  • Ligia Galarza
  • Angel Gillaspie
  • Mark Gleeson
  • MaryNell Gleeson
  • Duane Goertz
  • Barb Gorman
  • Sue Gossett
  • Eileen Grosser
  • Stewart Grosser
  • Barbara Gurss
  • Julia Guthrie
  • Linda Haar
  • Sonja Jacobs
  • Judy Johnson
  • Kieth Johnson
  • Barb Johnston
  • Audrey Kamb-Studdard
  • Nancy Kaufmann
  • Emily Kerbs
  • Maggie Khater
  • Robert Kimball
  • Beth Krishtalka
  • Brian Kuehl
  • Deb Locke
  • John Luhrs
  • Laurie Marienau
  • Breck Marion
  • Grace Marion
  • Robert Markley
  • Katherine McGillivray
  • Candice Meiners
  • Mary Murphy
  • Ellen Neis
  • Teresa Olds
  • Karin Pagel-Meiners
  • Janice Rake
  • Candice Ranney
  • Barbara Reid
  • Roberta Renz
  • Brenda Rezac
  • Randy Rezac
  • Janice Richardson
  • Debbie Sack
  • Tom Sack
  • Anne Sargent
  • Dan Schenkein
  • Larry Schlosser
  • Louise Schlup
  • Greg Schmidt
  • Lucy Schmidt
  • Oscar Schmidt
  • Gary Scott
  • Dianne Sisk
  • Vic Sisk
  • Dot Smith
  • Greg Smith
  • Marcia Smith
  • Ted Swartz
  • Chris Tilden
  • Katherine Tilden
  • Tracy Tolbert
  • Linda Troutfetter
  • Julie Trowbridge-Alford
  • Linda Troxel
  • Irene Tsuneta
  • Brad Wall
  • Kelly Wall
  • Carol Wallace
  • Carrie Wallace
  • Cliff Wallace
  • Teresa Wilke
  • Jules Woodrick